Book Review: Sweet Evil

11808950

Book: Sweet Evil

Author: Wendy Higgins

Genre: YA paranormal

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ½

Find this book on Goodreads

Characters

Gosh, where should I start?! I liked Anna up until the part in the story that she got creepily obsessed with Kaiden. Sorry girl, but no. Some of her decisions were downright stupid, and at times I wanted to transport through my book and give her a good shake. I absolutely adored Jay, what a sweetie. He was charming, he was funny, he was loveable. I liked Patti, but some of her decisions were also dumb (sending your daughter on a road trip across country to see her demon father with a half-demon who’s sole purpose is to influence people with earthy pleasures because their father is the Duke of Lust????? Didn’t ring a danger bell for you????). Kaiden was an asshole and I didn’t like him at all. He was manipulative, he was mean, he didn’t want to be with Anna but didn’t want Anna to be with anyone else. Ugh. Kopano was a sweetheart and I wish with all my heart Anna would have liked him over Kaiden tbh!

Plot 

I didn’t mind the plot for this book, however a lot of it was Anna getting to know Kaiden, Anna losing Kaiden, Anna stalking Kaiden (or pretty much anyway), Anna grieving over having lost Kaiden. Everything she ever did was about Kaiden! Ugh. I wanted to learn more about the angels and demons, which we do learn bits and pieces from both Kaiden and Anna’s father, but I still felt it wasn’t enough. This book definitely has an interesting premise, and it’s certainly unique too. I am interested to see where the rest of this series goes.

Writing 

Higgins’ writing wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. It was good enough to suck me in and keep me wanting to read more, and it was quite addictive, however there was just something lacking for me.

Overall thoughts and recommendation 

I liked this book. I’d probably recommend this to something looking for a fresh perspective on angels/demons or who wants a book they’ll devour quickly!

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

