Book Review: Emmy & Oliver

13132816

Book: Emmy & Oliver

Author: Robin Benway

Genre: YA Contemporary

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Find this book on Goodreads 

Characters

I really liked the characters in this book! Emmy has the perfect mix os seriousness and sass (let’s face it, her sass made the whole book). Oliver was lovely and I really liked him as the romantic interest. Caro and Drew were also great! Drew is the gay best friend, which is a little of a stereotype in YA now, I’ve noticed, but I can look past that. The only thing I didn’t particularly like were the parents, however I can understand why they acted the way they did.

Plot

Now, I don’t know if I can say there is much of a plot here. This book was very character driven, and the relationships between the characters was at the forefront (which isn’t a complaint since it was done well). I suppose the only things that were really part of the “plot” was the questions of what would happen to the father, and what would happen to Emmy once her parents found out about her surfing and college acceptance.

Writing

Benway has written this novel in such an addictive way, I found this so hard to put down. It was gripping, it was easy to read and it was sarcastic and funny. I loved it.

Overall thoughts and recommendations

I really enjoyed the way this all fit together and certainly recommend this to anyone interested in stories about rekindling lost friendship and love.

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

