Book Review: And Then There Were None

AND THEN THERE WERE NONE APB

Book: And Then There Were None

Author: Agatha Christie

Genre: Crime/Mystery

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Find this book on Goodreads

Characters 

I genuinely cared about what happened to almost all of the characters in this book (except the old lady, I really didn’t like her). When I first started reading this I thought it would be so hard to remember the names of all the characters but I found it rather easy. Christie definitely knows how to create complex, multi-layered characters with enough “off” about them that it kept you guessing who the killer actually was! (I did guess, however that little twist was brilliant!)

Plot 

I haven’t read a lot of mysteries, but as far as I’m concerned Christie had this plot perfect! It was the perfect mix of mystery, intrigue and action and it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading. There were quite a few twists in this that I certainly did not see coming, and I loved the idea of murdering the people based on the nursery rhyme (can we talk about how MORBID that nursery rhyme actually was?! OMG). Definitely kept me on the edge of my seat and second guessing myself after every turn of the page.

Writing 

Going in to this book I wasn’t sure how I’d go with the language; I’ve never read classics before (even if this is fairly recent) but Christie’s writing was wonderful. It’s very obvious she’s extremely talented and the way she wrote with such a mysterious air around each character was mesmerising.

Overall thoughts and recommendation

I really really liked this book! Christie certainly knows how to twist a story, write a good plot and write some complex characters. This was my first Agatha Christie novel and I don’t regret it one bit! If you’re new to Agatha Christie and/or haven’t read her books before, I highly recommend this book as it’s a great introduction to her work! Can’t wait to read more of her works in the future.

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

