How To: Bookstagram

Hey everyone! Over on Instagram I post photos of books; what I’m reading, what I hope to read, books I think are pretty, that kind of thing. I’ve had my bookstagram account for a little over a year and in that time I’ve accumulated some tips and tricks on how to be a successful bookstagrammer, or even how to make your account more known! I don’t have the most followers, hell one of my good friends has 20,000+, but I thought some of you out there might want to know how to better your account, or get it started! (NOTE: this is just what works for me, you don’t have to follow each of these steps to the dot! With a little bit of fiddling, you’ll work out what works best for you!)

1. Choose a background 

I’m currently using my wooden table as the background for my photos, but I’ve used multiple bed sheets as covers in the past. Try to choose something that won’t clash with books you’re trying to take photos of! This can be hard sometimes, as some backgrounds will look better with some books than they do with others. I tend to stick to one background, but one of my absolute favourite bookstagrammers @annreads changes up her background to suit whichever book she’s photographing. Just work out what works for you!

Processed with Rookie Cam

2. Take photos with natural light 

I ALWAYS take my photos with natural light. I find the quality of the photos comes out better and the overall product ends up looking better. Try to also take your photos at the same time everyday so that you have around about the same amount of natural light in your photos! I find this makes your feed look nicer and cleaner.

Processed with Rookie Cam

3. Choose a filter

Choosing a filter is always hard. I don’t even know how many times I’ve changed mine to be honest. I tend to go with filters that make the books colours stand out, or that compliment the book well and doesn’t make it look weird. The current filter I’m using is “Ruby” on RookieCam but I’ve previously used C2, F2 & HB1 on VSCOcam. There are other apps to get filters on, such as Afterlight, but I prefer the free apps.

Processed with Rookie Cam

4. Interact with other bookstagrammers and stay active

I’ve made some really great friends over the past few months because I started interacting more with my followers/people I follow. People love knowing that their followers aren’t just ghost followers, or people who just scroll through and like all the photos they come across on their dashboard. It takes only a minute out of your time to make a quick comment on someone’s photo, even if it’s just to tell them you think it’s a nice picture. You never know, that kindness could go a long way. People also like when you regularly upload photos. It doesn’t have to be every single day, even one ever 2 days is great, but try not to leave weeks between your uploads. (If you have important things going on then obviously that’s fine! Some people also only have time to upload every few weeks, but I know most people I know prefer when the people their following are active).

Processed with Rookie Cam

5. Caption your photos

I love reading people’s captions because I feel like I get to know the person a lot more. I tend to use emoji’s a lot to express my feelings the way words sometimes can’t. You might also want to try asking questions in your captions to get the flow of talking going! I know I find it easier to comment on peoples photos when they’re asking a specific question. Captioning photos is a great way for you to get to know your followers a little more and for your followers to get to know the type of person you are!

Processed with Rookie Cam

I hope this has helped some of you, and I hope if you’re thinking of joining bookstagram you do! There’s a whole amazing community out there, and I promise we’ll make you welcome!

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

2 thoughts on “How To: Bookstagram

  1. Great post Taryn! I love all your tips ❤ especially the interacting one, that one's my favorite haha ^^ getting to know people is the best thing about bookstagram 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

