Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Habits I Want To Quit

toptentuesday

Hi all! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the BookishEach week they provide a topic and you pick (generally 10) bookish things that fit this topic! For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, The Broke and the Bookish posted multiple variations of this topic and I chose Bookish Habits I Want To Quit 

1. Buying more books than I read 

One of my biggest problems that I need to stop doing is buying so many books and reading so many less. Book buying bans generally don’t work for me, so something I’m thinking about doing in the future is allowing myself a “read 3 books buy 1 book” kinda ban. Hopefully this will bring down my TBR!

2. Sticking to genres in my comfort zone

I’ve recently started a book club with 12 other lovely ladies over on Instagram, The Reading Rebels in which we’re trying to choose a myriad of genres to read from so we can challenge ourselves and step out of our comfort zones. I’m so bad when it comes to genres; I generally stick to YA, which is a habit I want to kick. I really want to start reading some Adult novels (I have read a few) and some other genres I generally stay away from, like non-fiction and horror.

3. Buying the whole series before reading the first book

I have honestly lost count on how many times I’ve done this! However, generally when I do this I end up liking the series…. but anyway. This is definitely a habit I want to quit before I buy an expensive series that I end up hating!

4. Avoiding classics

I’ve never read a classic! I don’t know what it is, I have a couple of them, I’ve just never read them! I think its because I always relate classics to school, and I’ve never read a book for school that I’ve actually enjoyed.

5. Reading reviews of a book I KNOW will spoil me 

I have a really bad habit of spoiling myself when it comes to books. I don’t like surprises. I just want to know what I’m in for. But ugh, this is something I need to stop doing! It doesn’t necessarily ruin a book for me, because I don’t know the events that happened around the spoiler, but still. (NOTE: even though I sometimes spoil myself for books, I do hate when people don’t put spoiler warnings on reviews they post because there are some books out there I don’t want to be spoiled on!)

6. Avoiding Harry Potter 

Okay, you got me. I haven’t read HP! When I was younger I started reading the first book, but my sister was reading the book ahead of me and was a slower reader than I so I stopped reading them and kind of… never went back to them. Turns out, we actually lost the first book, so I went out to buy it and still haven’t read it. I’m sure I’ll get to it soon!

7. Buying a series to match when I already have the other books 

This is mostly in reference to HP actually. As aforementioned, we lost the first HP book and I went out to buy it again. However, it was a different edition to all the other books I had in the series, and I liked this new edition much better so I then bought the 2nd and 3rd to match. I haven’t gone out to buy the rest yet and I’m not sure I will, but I need to not buy books I already have because I see a better cover!

8. Reading books <600 pages

I have a bad habit of avoiding books if they’re more than 600 pages! They intimidate me, and I find myself procrastinating them for months! I hope to read Outlander, Game of Thrones (just the first book) and Mistborn by the end of this year though!

9. Not finishing series where I enjoyed the first book

This is a very bad habit of mine! I have quite a few series (Legend trilogy by Marie Lu, Lux series by JLA, Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin, Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer to name a few) that I’ve read the first one or two books of the series and loved them, and never got around to reading the other books, when I own them! One of my 2015 Bookish Resolutions was to finish the series’ I started last year… But that didn’t really happen

10. Reading books I’ve just bought over books I’ve owned for months 

I always tend to set myself a monthly TBR of books I’ve had on my shelf for months I’ve been wanting to read, and then I accumulate new ones and read those first! I just know if I keep reading the new books over the old books, I’m just never going to get to the old books, and my TBR will just keep growing.

Let me know in the comments some of YOUR bookish habits you want to quit!

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Habits I Want To Quit

  1. Ahh Taryn! This post is so relatable! Haha, I feel like I suffer from most of these as well >.< I really like your #1 though, I think I might try it too! (I say this but I just bought a new book like yesterday…haha). As for classics, if you like strong independent heroines, I would recommend Jane Eyre. And if you like romance than any of Jane Austen's novels are lovely, Pride & prejudice is my favorite. I would also recommend Frankenstein because it's really really good. I know school pretty much ruins the classics for most people, but if you read them just for the sake of enjoyment, I think it changes the whole experience (: good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You MUST finish the Legend trilogy, it’s fantastic! And honestly, I didn’t start HP until I was in 10th grade so I started pretty late but it was sooooo worth it. I love reading big books so I can’t relate there but you should definitely give Game of Thrones a try. Those books are to die for! – Camila

    Like

  3. Great list! I definitely buy far too many books, far more than I can possibly read! I have books I’m still excited to read but they’ve been sitting on my shelf for years! At least this week’s TTT proves we’re not alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

