Book Review: Firsts

I received a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review thanks to St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley 

23480844

Book: Firsts

Author: Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Genre: YA Contemporary

Expected Publication: 5th January 2016

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ½

Find this books on Goodreads 

Characters 

I personally found Mercedes, or Mercy as her friends call her, relatively hard to relate to. She made some very very silly mistakes that I just couldn’t see myself making, hence why I couldn’t relate to her. I was waiting from page one for the whole thing to blow up in Mercy’s face and the fact that she was so naïve and gullible as to assume she had complete control of the situation was a little laughable. I also couldn’t relate to her because of her as a person. She pushed the people around her away that cared about her (Zach mostly) which infuriated me throughout the entirety of this novel. She was bitchy, she was manipulative and sometimes she was just plain dumb. However, I did feel sympathy for her after what happened. Whilst I certainly would never treat anyone like that, the way she was treated doesn’t surprise me at all. And the fact that she thought it a good idea to sleep with multiple girls’ boyfriends, whether she thought she was helping  them or not, just seemed too idiotic to me. I wasn’t sure what to think of Faye. She intrigued me from the moment she entered the picture but I can’t say I wholly liked her character. I think the only characters I really liked were Angela and Zach, both of whom were lied to and walked all over for majority of the book.

Plot 

The plot was extremely predictable. Everyone can guess just from reading the description of the book pretty much exactly what was going to happen. I liked that we finally got to find out what happened with Luke, although that was kind of predictable as well. I have to admit, the plot was still good, though.

Writing 

Writing comes easily to Flynn. I had no problems devouring this book (to my standards anyway) and the ease with which Flynn wrote this is definitely why it was so easy to read. It’s relatively light and fluffy, but serious when it needs to be.

Overall thoughts and recommendations 

I did enjoy this book, despite the flaws I found. I would recommend this to anyone who likes easy to read contemporaries that explore a few deeper themes.

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

