Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

TROUJLH-hb-cover

Book: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre: YA paranormal contemporary

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ½

Find this book on Goodreads

Characters 

I quite liked the diversity of the characters in this novel. Our protagonist, Mikey, was loveable and sensible; he was by far my favourite. I feel as if most characters were likeable, however at times I really questioned what it was Mikey saw in Henna; she was annoying, she made some extremely stupid decisions, and she totally messed with Mikey’s head. Apart from those characteristics on Henna, I really liked reading about the rest of the characters.

Plot 

Now, going into this book I had no idea what to expect. Coming out of this book, I’m amazed. I love how easily Ness crafted this world with the indie kids. I loved the parallel plot lines, though I can’t say which I liked best. I would have loved to read about the indie kids, but I really enjoyed reading about the “normal” kids too! I was a little worried going into this book, as I’d read other reviewers saying this book was very boring and didn’t really have a plot, though after reading this I have no idea how anyone can say that. This wasn’t exactly fast paced, but it wasn’t slow paced either.

Writing 

Patrick Ness never fails to blow me away with his writing. He writes with such charisma and wit that you can’t help but love it. His writing  is humorous, even a little post-modern in this novel as it seems for much of the novel that our narrator Mikey is talking straight to us. Patrick Ness is honestly just a genius.

Overall thoughts and recommendation

Patrick Ness has done it again. He never fails to amaze me with his sheer brilliance at crafting an amazing story. I would definitely recommend this to existing Patrick Ness fans, but also to those who aren’t sure about him but want to read one of his books!

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Leave a Reply

