Book Review: Risk

9780857986474

Book: Risk

Author: Fleur Ferris

Genre: YA Contemporary/Mystery

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ½

Find this book on Goodreads 

Characters 

My main problem with this book was actually it’s characters. Taylor, our protagonist, was extremely annoying at times. I found her to be extremely selfish, what with her gaining so much popularity feeding off her best friends’ disappearance. She was naïve, gullible and just plain immature. She didn’t think about anybody apart from herself and was constantly looking for acceptance through others. However, I adored Callum. Callum was level-headed, he was smart and he was mature. He was easily the most selfless person in the book (I mean c’mon who wouldn’t want to notify their parents/the police if one of your best friends goes missing???). The secondary characters were mostly unexplored, however I have to admit I enjoyed reading about the dynamic between the families of Taylor and Sierra.

Plot 

I feel the plot fell a little short with this one. I went into this book expecting a mystery/thriller however we knew what happened to Sierra not even halfway through the book. I felt as if majority of this book was spent on Taylor boasting about how great her blog/website is. I appreciate the sentiment of dedicating a website to your best friends’ disappearance with the hopes it could save another girl from going through what Sierra did, however I could not sympathise with someone who gained so much from this traumatic experience.

Writing 

Fleur Ferris’ writing was easy to get sucked into. It wasn’t complicated but it wasn’t so simple as to bore the reader. Ferris uses the exact right amount of suspense and emotion to create an enticing read.

Overall Thoughts & Recommendation 

Overall I did enjoy this book, and based on the subject matter, I would recommend this to any and every sen who is interested in reading it.

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

