Book Review: An Ember in the Ashes

An-Ember-in-the-Ashes

Book: An Ember in the Ashes

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Genre: YA fantasy

Rating: ★★★★★

Find this book on Goodreads

Characters 

I absolutely loved all of the characters in this book. Elias was definitely my favourite of them all, but I liked everyone else as well. I liked that the secondary characters weren’t just brushed aside, but most were thoroughly explored and developed. Laia at times annoyed me, though throughout the novel she developed immensely and became a stronger character. I’m excited to see where the next book takes these characters.

Plot 

The plot of this book was extremely fast-paced and I really enjoyed reading it! It wasn’t extremely predictable, however there were a few things I guessed early on in the book. However, the plot of this was very very enjoyable and I can’t wait to see where the next takes this story!

Writing 

Sabaa Tahir’s writing is so so so good! It’s just so addictive and easy to read, it all flows so eloquently and I just loved reading her writing. I can’t wait for her to write more books!

Overall Thoughts and Recommendation 

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed An Ember in the Ashes and would certainly recommend this to everyone (however due to the nature of some content I would suggest possibly 15+)

Thanks for reading!

Taryn xxx

Leave a Reply

